Gene. Sys. by Aaron Denius Garcia–Review by Bethanie

Genesys Aaron Denius Garcia

Gene. Sys. by Aaron Denius Garcia

YA– Sci-Fi, Action

Never in my wildest imagination did I think a Sci-fi action book would get to me like it did. Another of Bethanie’s Faves has been found, and unbelievably it is another Sci-fi book. I may have to look into this genre a little more.

My heart is broken, though. With tears I closed this book. With hope I look forward to the next. There was never a dull moment. The action started pretty much from the get-go. I fell in love with the characters, but was disappointed by some. I will leave it at that. You will have to read it to see where my disappointment lay, but once I got over that, which made no sense as to why it was added to begin with. The rest of the book kept me on the edge of my seat.

I couldn’t put this book down. I read it in one afternoon. That is how much I liked this book. Most books take me a few days to read because everything starts off so slow, NOT in this one, though. It is a fast-paced, unbelievable-amount-of-action, packed-into-a-book, book. Feast on that for a little while. When you read it you will understand.

Writing and Storyline

I understand that this was an advanced review copy so the writing was probably brushed up before it was released to the public. There were some places I had to read twice to understand because words were missing, and there were some punctuation and capitalization errors. That however did not take away from the storyline of the book.

OH MY GOSH! The story was outstanding. Mr. Garcia’s play on words and acronyms for certain things were extremely creative. His creation of this almost impossible compound where everything took place was absolutely amazing. I could see everything and follow right along with the characters wherever they were. The “bad-guys” really weren’t “bad-guys”. I could understand the emotional stress these characters were under because of what was about to happen. The descriptions were amazing and all-senses encompassing. Mr. Garcia created this world and this story with an incredible amount of imagination and forethought. I am curious as to know how long it took him to write it. The way it ended there would have to be another book. I have to know what happens!

Disclaimer

Now some readers want to know and some readers don’t. There was some profanity used and one instance that I believe could have been left completely out of the story and it would have been just fine. However it was only about a six-word instance and I honestly don’t know what it had to do with the story.

Beyond that it was a great book. There was so much happening. It never stopped, until the flames. I’ll let that soak in too. I am hoping and cheering for the characters that brought me to tears. I will read the next book whenever it comes out, whether by review or purchase. Happy reading!! 🙂

~Bethanie

I was given an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. No monetary exchange was made.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

