Gumshoes: The Case of Madison’s Father by Russell Nohelty–Review by Bethanie

Gumshoes

Gumshoes: The Case of Madison’s Father

By: Russell Nohelty

So, I am a big fan of Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew Mysteries, always have been. However if I had to choose between Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, or Gumshoes, my choice would be GUMSHOES. When asked to review this book and they said it was similar to Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew, I thought no one could outdo those. I was wrong. Gumshoes: The Case of Madison’s Father, I enjoyed more than the Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew. Mr. Nohelty hit the life of a middle-schooler dead-on. I was even more impressed that Mr. Nohelty was able to mold middle-school life plus mystery together into a very fun book.  There were funny parts, semi-serious parts, and just down-right unbelievable parts. For a moment I thought we would not have a happy ending, but I was happy to be proven wrong.

The book itself was a roller-coaster ride. In reading it I would think Woohoo, they finally found them, only moments later to be thwarted in my excitement. That is the mark of a good “mystery novel.” It was obvious that it was written for a middle-schooler and since I teach middle-schoolers. I thought he nailed their interests. I was rather pleased by that.

Writing and Storyline:

The writing was just right for middle-school age children. The storyline, although a roller-coaster, was well-done. It was paced just enough to keep me interested, but not in such a hurry that I couldn’t follow.

Reccommendation:

If you are looking to get middle-schoolers interested in mystery novels, I would start with this one. Although Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew will always be the classics to me, Gumshoes is a fun way to pull in modern-day middle-schoolers to the exciting world of detectives and mystery sleuths. Thank you Mr. Nohelty. Happy Reading!

~Bethanie

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

